Mrs Walls Cooks Diet Cola Chicken

wp-image-350954895jpeg.jpeg

I first heard about diet cola chicken when a colleague at work mentioned it.  She was on slimming world and she told me how good it was.  Initially, you think what on earth?  How could diet coke work in a savoury chicken sauce – but it does.  It really does!!

wp-image-1194284558jpeg.jpegYou can google diet cola chicken and find a million and one results, the ‘official’ one being listed first.  My only criticism of the online recipes I saw is why would you not bulk up this meal with a more vegetables?  Vegetables add flavour and also stretch a sauce further making you feel like your eating more.

I tried this meal twice.  On my first attempt, I didn’t add any stock as many of the online recipes suggested and used tinned tomatoes instead of passata. I also boosted the vegetable content by adding carrots and celery. I added less soy sauce and more Worcestershire sauce and it came out tasting like sweet and sour chicken – I have no idea why.  It was so watery, even though I cooked it for longer than it suggested all over the internet.  I also though the colour needed working on.

I made some changes adding green beans for colour.  I added a little chicken stock and an extra onion to the recipe for flavour and changed the quantities of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce.  I also added more tomato puree, adding 4 tablespoons.  This came out beautifully.  It was thicker and richer.  The only thing I could liken it to is almost BBQ like with a sweet and sticky sauce.  That’s my opinion, I think that the taste is something that you could judge on making it, its very different- a good different.

This is definitely a recipe that everyone needs to give a go at some point.

wp-image-841474450jpeg.jpeg

~~~~~
Diet Cola Chicken
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.worpress.com

 

Ingredients
Serves 4
1 clove of garlic
2 onion
 500 g chicken breast (cubed)
2 sticks of celery (sliced)
2 medium carrots (sliced)
1 pepper (sliced)
400 g tin of chopped tomatoes
4 tbsp tomato puree
1 can of diet coke
100 ml chicken stock
1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp soy sauce
100 g green beans (ends removed and halved)

 

Method
Fry the onion and garlic until softened in a large pan.  Add the chicken and seal.  Add the celery, carrots and peppers and cook for five minutes on a medium heat.
Add the tomatoes, tomato puree, diet coke, stock, Worcestershire sauce and soy sauce.
Cook for 20 – 30 minutes.  Add the green beans 10 minutes before the end of cooking time.
~~~~~

wp-1476474199753.jpeg

Did you love my Diet Coke Chicken?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks

 

 

Leave a Reply

