Comforting and Creamy Chicken and Leeks with New Potatoes

IMG_1940.jpg

Going back to work on Monday has to be one of the hardest things, especially when it feels like you left on Friday afternoon only five minutes ago.  Today was no different and after a busy weekend I felt more tired than when the weekend began.  I only noticed at 11.30 am that my cardigan had been on inside out all morning – it’s obvious what kind of morning I had!!

In addition it doesn’t help that I struggle to appreciate the approach of autumn.  People talk about the beautiful colours of autumn and the lovely evenings spent cosying up with a hot chocolate in front of the fire.  Unfortunately all I can think of when I see the leaves falling is constantly being cold for the next six months, scary gas bills and going to work in the dark and coming home in the dark for a long time.  SO MISERABLE.

There are positives to everything and fortunately colder weather signals the approach of warming foods; having something to look forward to in the evening is a bonus.  I think that this recipe is one of the silver linings and definitely helped shift those autumn blues.

IMG_1947.jpg

In all the flavour combinations ever discovered, I think chicken and leek are one of my favourites.  I’m also a sucker for a garlicky cream sauce with white wine.  I used light cream in my version to keep down the calories and fat content which still worked very well (I couldn’t taste the difference).

The mustard, although it is subtle, adds that extra flavour and the potatoes make it comforting and filling.

IMG_1939.jpg

~~~~~
Comforting and Creamy Chicken and Leeks with New Potatoes  
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients
Serves 4
2 cloves of garlic (crushed)
1 onion (diced)
100 ml white wine
500 g chicken breast (cubed)
2 leeks (sliced)
150 ml of single cream
600 g new potatoes (washed and cut)

 

Method
Soften both the garlic and onions in a large saucepan for about 3 or 4 minutes.  Add the white wine and let this simmer away for a few minutes.  Add the chicken to the pan and seal the meat.  Add the leeks and mustard, letting the leeks soften in the pan for 5 minutes.  Add the chicken stock and the single cream and let this simmer on a low heat for 10 minutes.
Whilst the chicken and leeks are cooking, add the new potatoes to a pan of boiling water and simmer until tender, (this should take about 10 minutes).  Drain and add the potatoes to the chicken and leeks.  Fold the potatoes though and season well.
Serve.
~~~~~

pixlr_20161010164508342.jpg

Did you love my Comforting and Creamy Chicken and Leeks with New Potatoes
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks

Leave a comment