Prawn and Bean Stir-fry

wp-image-1061124276jpeg.jpegI’m trying really hard to go cold turkey on carbohydrates at the moment and focus on filling myself up with longer lasting ‘good for you’ energy.  I find that beans are always a close friend; full of protein, fibre and vitamins/minerals you cannot really go wrong with beans.  Eating them regularly can reduce the risk of diabetes, heart disease and help with weight management.  Definitely an appealing factor.

My love of beans (and also my intention to be the healthiest person alive) made me fill this stir fry with JUST beans and a few king prawns.  Could it be nice if it is just plain old beans?  Its full of textures and flavour.  I must admit, I’m rather proud of it.

 

wp-image-943577107jpeg.jpeg

It was pretty simple to decide on my beans and to throw in spring onions and king prawns but I found the sauce a bit of challenge.  It wanted a bit of moisture but needed to be individual and to work with the prawns.  My first sauce attempt was more of a standard Chinese stir fry taste (I added dark soy sauce, white wine vinegar, honey and Chinese 5 spice), which was really nice but it didn’t stand out to me.

I wanted to use the flavours of lemon and ginger with the honey to balance out the sharpness of the lemon juice.  The only problem with this was that none of these ingredients added any moisture, hence why I added the stock.

wp-image-428490784jpeg.jpeg

I state in my recipe to create 300 ml of stock but only to use 50 ml of it.  I know it sounds wasteful but if I was to dissolve one stock cube in 50 ml of water, I knew the flavour would come out pretty powerful.  I didn’t want to lose the lemon, ginger and honey, I just wanted to add a little fluid and flavour.  Therefore I used a weakened version.  If you don’t like my wasteful ways, perhaps cut the stock cube up and save the rest for the next time you use one?

My new sauce is perfect with a balanced lemon flavour and a hint of ginger.  I would suggest though testing as your going along as our tastes are all different.  Perhaps a sweeter stir fry works for you or you want more of a hit from the ginger? Add a little less or a little more of what you want.

I’ve mentioned before how much I enjoy rice noodles.  They really add that extra something to this meal with their beautifully light texture.  I only added a very small amount to this recipe as I think the beans are so filling that you don’t need to add more.

I’ve used fresh broad beans in my recipe but you can always use frozen, as there is always a lot of preparation involved with fresh broad beans.

wp-image-563446254jpeg.jpeg

~~~~~
Prawn and Bean Stir Fry 
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients 
Serves 2
60 g spring onions (sliced)
125 g green beans (ends removed and halved)
125 g frozen soya beans
100 g frozen petit pois
150 g fresh broad beans (removed from pods and outer ‘leathery’ skin removed)
150 g cooked king prawns
2-3 cm root of ginger (finely diced)
Juice of half a lemon
1 1/2 tbsp honey
1 vegetable stock cube (dissolved in 300 ml of boiling water)
50 g fine rice noodles

 

Method
In a wok, fry your spring onions in a calorie spray until they begin to brown slightly.  Add the green beans, soya beans, petit pois and broad beans.  Let these cook on a medium heat stirring constantly until all the water off the frozen beans has evaporated, this should take between 5 – 10 minutes, then add the prawns, ginger, lemon juice and honey.  Add 50 ml of the vegetable stock.  Stir well.
Add the rice noodles to a pan of salted water and cook according to packet instructions (should be about 2 minutes).   Once tender, drain and add to the wok working the noodles well into the prawn and bean mix.
Serve.
~~~~~

wp-1475603824454.jpeg

Did you love my Prawn and Bean Stir Fry?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks
Leave a Reply

