Spicy Peanut Butter Chicken

wp-image-1000809140jpeg.jpegI love peanut butter, it takes me straight back to being a teenager.  Me and Hazel used to come home after school and cut thick slices of tiger loaf, smother it thickly with either peanut butter or chocolate spread and would watch the two episodes of Friends on E4 at 5pm.  Dad used to find us eating three slices each and would repeatedly tell us that we would ruin our dinner, which it always did.  Being teenagers though, peanut butter was always more appealing than fish in a bag….

I decided I would try making my own peanut butter chicken.  We can all get bored of eating the same style of chicken day in day out, so I wanted to mix the two up and see what happened.

My first attempt, didn’t turn out how I imagined Peanut Butter Chicken to be.  I added coconut milk but I felt like the peanut butter taste was lost.  It needed to be rich and sticky, not milky.  It came out with a very thin sauce and the flavours reminded me of a thai curry.

wp-image-1733316835jpeg.jpeg
My first attempt

On my second attempt, I made a few changes.  I left out the coconut milk and I cooked it for longer.  To add more flavour and a little more liquid, I added 100 ml of chicken stock.  The result was a much thicker and richer sauce, I would say it was like a concentrated burst of flavour in each mouthful.

wp-image-533263993jpeg.jpeg

It wasn’t too hot on my palette but it had a little bit of heat; although that is really nothing to go by as I’m not really a lover of super spicy foods.  The flavour wasn’t just of peanut butter – I can’t even describe it even though it had a nutty texture (although a smooth one) on the mouth, it had other qualities too.

Me and Ross are both still undecided as to whether I should call this is curry.  Its a bit like a curry but it was never intended to be one.  I wanted it to be intensely flavoured chicken.

wp-image-1030962758jpeg.jpeg

To make the sauce thinner just add more stock and cook it off until it is at the desired consistency.  Make sure to stir at close intervals when it is cooking as it seems to stick to the bottom of the pan quite easily, especially towards the end of the cooking time.

~~~~~

Spicy Peanut Butter Chicken
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients
Serves 2-3
1/2 tsp coriander seeds
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
1 clove of garlic (minced)
1 chilli (sliced)
1 thumb sized piece of fresh ginger (finely diced)
1/2 tsp garam masala
500 g chicken bread (cubed)
3 heaped tbsp smooth peanut butter
400 g tin of chopped tomatoes
100 ml chicken stock

 

Method
Using a pestle and mortar, grind the coriander seeds and cumin seeds together.
Fry the garlic on a very low heat until it is softened slightly.  Add the crushed coriander and cumin seeds, chilli, ginger and garam masala.  Mix the spices together in the pan and then add all the chicken making sure all of it is coated in the spices.  Seal the chicken for 5 minutes and then add the peanut butter and make sure all the chicken is coated.  Cook for a minute or two and then add the chopped tomatoes and stock.
Simmer on a low heat for 30 – 40 minutes. Serve with rice.
~~~~~

wp-1475182829381.jpeg

Did you love my Spicy Peanut Butter Chicken?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks
Leave a Reply

