Spinach and Lentil Dhal

My sister bought me a fabulous Indian masala dabba spice tin (google it if you don’t know what it is!!) for my birthday with some amazing spices in it, including garam masala, which is made from a blend of spices and chillies from Northern India.  It inspired me to look into trying some more Indian cuisine.  As I may have mentioned, I’ve always been a little sceptical about ‘spicy’ things so I’ve tended not to dabble in this area.

Dhal (or Dal) is a thick stew prepared from lentils, peas or beans which have been split (the outer hull has been removed).  Dhal is an important part of Indian cuisine and is a staple for many people.  Its full of protein, with over three times the amount in dhal than in cooked rice.

The ingredients are simple but the result is a healthy and wholesome meal, which will keep you fuller for longer.  It takes minutes to throw together and you can leave it to cook itself.

I loved it.  I thought it was delicious and it had a kick but not too much to put me off.  The spices are potent and the lentils have the most fantastic texture.   I kept it simple on purpose, adding only the spinach to add a different texture and flavour.

Its low in calories and I worked out that it was 224 calories for each serving if shared between two and they are big portions.  It would work well with naan bread or even a pita bread.

For a dish that is labelled the ‘poor mans food’ in India, it certainly doesn’t taste that way.  Let me know what you think.

~~~~~
Lentil Dhal
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients 
Serves 2 (or 4 with naan)
2 onions (diced)
2 cloves of garlic (minced)
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp garam masala
Thumb sized piece of fresh ginger (finely chopped)
250 g frozen spinach (defrosted and drained)
150 g split red lentils
400 g tin of chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato puree
500 ml vegetable stock

 

Method
Fry the onions and garlic together in a large saucepan on a medium heat until they are beginning to soften.  Add the cumin, garam masala and ginger to the pan and stir in.  Allow this to cook for a further 2 minutes.
Add the spinach and mix thoroughly.  Add the lentils and stir through the mix.  Add the chopped tomatoes, puree and the stock.
Cook for 35-40 minutes on a low heat stirring intermittently.  Serve.
~~~~~
Did you love my Spinach and Tomato Dhal?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks
Leave a Reply

