Classic Greek Salad

Nothing reminds me of being on holiday more than a Greek salad.

Me and my little sister went to Greece twice with our parents when we were teenagers.  The first time we went, we stayed in a self-catering apartment.  Mum and Dad kept the food simple and stuck to salads or bread and cheese but it was lovely (don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with all inclusive but you end up eating too much just to eat what on offer!!).

When I eat Greek salad it takes me straight back to those precious memories of warm evenings on the balcony feasting on Greek salad with crusty bread.  Happy memories.
The ingredients are simple and you can just throw it all together.  No skill involved but you get the most fantastic and refreshing salad.  My recipe listed below is what a ‘classic’ Greek salad includes.

For this recipe, I’ve added ingredients not quantities because I don’t think there should be rules.  You can add as much or as little as you want – obviously I always end up with more feta than anything else (I cannot get enough of feta!!).
Greek salad also works a treat with grilled meats but I personally love the simplistic approach.  I do not think you can go wrong with a bit of crusty bread.  Its beautiful!!  Please give it a go if you haven’t tried Greek salad before and let me know what you think?

~~~~~

Classic Greek Salad
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients
Green olives (sliced)
Green pepper (diced)
Cucumber (diced)
Red onion (finely diced)
Cherry tomatoes (halved)
Dried oregano (roughly 1 -2 tsp)
Pinch of salt
Glug of olive oil
Splash of red wine vinegar
Feta cheese (cubed)
Best served with crusty bread

 

Method
Add the olives, peppers, cucumber, red onion, tomatoes, oregano, salt, olive oil and red wine vinegar to a mixing bowl and combine until all the salad is coated.  Gently fold through the feta.
Serve with sliced crusty bread.
~~~~~

Did you love my Classic Greek Salad?

Leave me a comment below or share your picture on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks

Leave a Reply

