A review: Innocent Coconut Water

IMG_1517.JPGI love meal deals.  Its always an opportunity to forget how much of a frugal person you are and let go.

Everyone picks the top of the range sandwich, when they would usually try have the £1 egg and cress or just ham.  They choose an obscure snack and a posh smoothie rather than the usual diet coke.  Then you feel as though you made the most of your meal deal – its a satisfying £3 .

We were on the way for a day out with friends when we decided we would break the bank and have a meal deal each.  I chose a baguette and Ross chose ‘posh’ sandwiches.  Ross had a smoothie and I chose Coconut Water.

If you google coconut water you get the following result.

“Naturally refreshing, coconut water has a sweet, nutty taste. It contains easily digested carbohydrate in the form of sugar and electrolytes. Not to be confused with high-fat coconut milk or oil, coconut water is a clear liquid in the fruit’s center that is tapped from young, green coconuts.” – taken from The Truth about Coconut Water – WebMD

I bought the Innocent version.  On the packaging, it claimed that they had cracked it.  The coconut water contained no concentrates or sweeteners and nothing else whatsoever, although it says that there is a secret ingredient (why would it be secret and how could it be just coconut in the water if there is another ingredient??)  Also they stated that it was a good source of potassium, which appealed to health conscious me.  The carton told me that it was a natural thirst quencher.  So far so good – not forgetting that it’s low calorie and fat free.

Reviews on Innocent’s website were glowing, apart from a few anomalies, including comments stating that it is the best packaged coconut water on the market and that it is “delicious and refreshing”.  One reviewer who had been to Thailand and drank “from many a coconut” said that it was exactly the same.

How do I feel about Innocent’s Coconut Water?
I’ve never tried coconut water before so its hard to compare.
I like the taste.  The initial flavour that hits your mouth is slightly bitter but then it sweetens and tastes more nutty and milky.  I can definitely taste the coconut but its not overpowering.  It tastes natural and it smells appealing.  The aftertaste was pleasant.  I do think that it is an acquired taste and you would have to be a fan of coconuts or almonds to enjoy this.I felt hydrated throughout the day and found it refreshing to drink but as my coconut water heated up, I didn’t enjoy it as much.  I think it is something that definitely needs to be enjoyed chilled, as is common with lots of drinks.
There is such a big market for this popular drink that I would be interested to see how Innocent’s version would compare to others being sold.  I believe this is quite expensive in the shops, so to be able to justify buying this you would have to really enjoy drinking it.  Also its shelf life is very short at only two days once opened.
Have you tried Innocent’s Coconut Water?
Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought? 
Leave a Reply

