Dauphinoise Potatoes with Bacon Surprise

Dauphinoise potatoes are iconic and work perfectly with lots of dishes. I thought that this was delicious, especially with the bacon twist.

I knew that my dauphinoise potatoes were a success when I didn’t have to remind Ross to take leftovers with him for lunch at work, instead he asked if he could, like they were precious.  The addition of the cheese topping adds a delicious bit of extra flavour and texture.

Unfortunately they’re not good for the waste line.  Due to this, I use light double cream at home when I make these.  I know that so many chefs say don’t skimp by using reduced fat ingredients but I honestly feel that your taste buds adapt to whatever you feed yourself.  You become used to the flavours and you don’t miss it.  Let me know if you agree with me or if you think you should always go full fat and not compromise on flavour.

I didn’t want to make plain old dauphinoise potatoes, so I added my bacon surprise – a layer of bacon through the potatoes.  Optional of course.

~~~~~
Dauphinoise Potatoes with Bacon Surprise 
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients
Serves 6 (as a side)
1 kg potatoes (peeled)
200 g bacon
350 ml double cream
175 ml milk
1 clove of garlic (cut into two)
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
50 g Gruyere cheese (grated)

 

Method
Preheat the oven to 180ºc/360ºf/gas mark 4
Cook the bacon in a frying pan until its cooked through, then put to one side.
In a medium pan heat up the double cream, milk and garlic until it is warmed through.  Do not boil it.
Slice the potatoes very thinly (3-4 mm thin).  In a 2 litre ovenproof dish create a bottom layer using half the potato slices.  Add the bacon on top of this layer, then finish off with a top layer of potatoes.
Remove the garlic from the cream and milk, then pour over the potatoes and bacon.  Top with the grated Gruyere cheese.
Cook in the oven for 50 – 60 minutes until golden brown and the potatoes are tender.
~~~~~
Did you love my Dauphinoise Potatoes with Bacon Surprise?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

