Turkey and Spinach Meatballs

When I got married last year, I spent time before eating well. I cut back my portion sizes of pasta and bulked everything with healthier alternatives and vegetables.  Turkey meatballs were my favourite thing to make because I added so many veggies to the tomato sauce that I was always full after and that was bliss.  The result of eating well, I felt happy and confident when we got married.

I’ve stuck to eating lots of vegetables and I still always make my meatballs with a tasty vegetable filled sauce (I don’t see how a plain tomato sauce could excite the taste buds).  I have added spinach to my turkey meatballs as they keep them moist, whereas sometimes plain ones can get dry.

With the amount of turkey mince stated below, you could either make 15 big or 20 small meatballs easily, it depends on how many mouths there are to feed?  I also cook them separately from the sauce in this recipe initially but they could be added just after the onions and garlic are softened. The only problem with cooking them this way means they might break up a little, the spinach does make them more delicate than usual.

~~~~~
Turkey and Spinach Meatballs 
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients 
Serves 4
300 g spaghetti

 

For the meatballs
450 g lean turkey mince
150 g frozen spinach
1 small clove of garlic (minced)

 

For the vegetable sauce
1 clove of garlic (minced)
2 onions (diced)
2 bell peppers (chopped)
1 courgette (sliced)
175 g mushrooms (sliced)
400 g tin of chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp spoon tomato puree
1 vegetable stock cube
1/2 tsp paprika
2 tsp oregano
Salt and Pepper to taste

 

Parmesan to serve (finely grated)

 

Method
Prepare the meatballs adding the mince, spinach and garlic into a small mixing bowl.  Mix together and use slightly wet hands to shape them into 15 large meatballs or 20 smaller ones, trying to push the spinach towards the inside of the meatball to help them not to fall apart. Cook these in a medium saucepan for 10 minutes turning over at intervals to seal the meatballs.
To create the sauce, fry the onions and garlic until softened.  Add the peppers and cook for a further three minutes.  Add the courgettes and mushrooms and cook for another 5 minutes. Add the chopped tomatoes, tomato puree, the stock cube, paprika, oregano.  Add the meatballs and allow this to simmer for 20 minutes stirring intermittently.  Season to taste.
Cook the spaghetti according to packet instructions.  Serve with the meatballs and a sprinkling of Parmesan.
~~~~~
Did you love my Turkey and Spinach Meatballs?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Faeboook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks
Leave a Reply

