Lemon and Thyme Chicken

IMG_1051.JPG

A simple but really tasty meal.   I love eating lots of green veggies so this was a favourite of mine and the chicken, if you cook it right, is tender and tastes so good.

The idea behind this dish was originally a simple lemon chicken but then I wanted to add in chickens best friend, thyme.  I think it all works really well together as a trio and I added the mustard in later after testing because I think it rounds the flavours out.

I think the great thing about this meal is it is easily achievable, even if you perhaps are trying to do other things whilst making dinner, which is common for busy families.  Its affordable and healthy too.

I’ve plated it up with something that I’ve been dying to try – giant wholemeal couscous.  I wanted to buy some a couple of months back but couldn’t find it in my local supermarket.  Then whilst browsing, I came across it so I had to give it a go.  I love the texture – soft but firm.  It is certainly filling and tastes great BUT I don’t like the way it looks.

When uncooked it looks more like couscous but once they have been boiled they begin to look like fish pellets!  By fish pellets I mean they look like round circular pieces of dough that have been cut out.  After googling, I have found that a lot of the brands out there have this shape too.  I just don’t think it looks too appealing; maybe they would look better mixed up in a salad rather than served alone as I have.  Although saying that, they do taste great.

IMG_1058.JPG

~~~~~
Lemon and Thyme Chicken
From the kitchen of mrswallscooks.wordpress.com

 

Ingredients 
Serves 2
1 tsp thyme
1 tbsp oil
Juice of 1 lemon
1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
1 small clove of garlic (halved)
2 chicken breasts

 

To serve
60 g giant wholemeal couscous
220 g green beans (ends removed and halved)
1/2 broccoli stem (cut into florets)

 

Method
In a small mixing bowl combine the thyme, oil, lemon juice, mustard and garlic. Add the chicken breasts, making sure the marinade covers all of the meat.  Cover with clingfilm and leave to marinate for at least 30 minutes, turning the meat over halfway through.
Once you are ready to eat, take the chicken breasts out of the marinade and use your fingers to get most of the thyme off the chicken.  Wrap the chicken breasts in foil (create foil boats) and place into a baking tray.  Cook for 20 – 25 minutes until the meat is cooked through but still tender.
Whilst the chicken is cooking, cook the cous cous according to packet instructions (should be simmered in water for 7-9 minutes until soft) and the green beans (in boiling water 4-5 minutes) and brocolli (steam for 5/6 minutes).
Serve.
~~~~~
pixlr_20160902211643627Did you love my Lemon and Thyme Chicken?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks
Leave a Reply

