Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

IMG_1184.JPG

If you’ve been living under a rock it may interest you to know that The Great British Bake Off starts tonight!! Its one of the highlights of the year, spending every Wednesday glued to the TV from 8 pm to 9 pm.  I love everything about it, especially the amazing creations you get to see week after week and how funny it can be at times.

I always wonder what it must be like for the contestants on the first day of cooking.  Imagine all the cameras around and having to address the cameras telling them what your making (I’d be a red faced mess at this point).  Then actually imagine having to make them and in the time required.  Then the humiliation when weeks of planning and practising falls apart because of the nerves and Paul and Mary stand there in front of you and tell everyone in the tent that it’s a “soggy bottom”.

As I’ve already mentioned, I’m not the most skilled baker so the above scenario would be mine.  Public humiliation isn’t my thing so I’ll stick to my kitchen for now!!  To get in the spirit of the bake off though, I’ve been busy in MY kitchen trying to create my own masterpieces.

What could be better than a massive cookie cake – its a baking dream.  As the name suggests it’s halfway between a cookie and a cake.  It’s best served just out of the oven after allowing it to cool for a few minutes with a scoop of ice cream but it can also be served cold.

I found my inspiration from the recipe on the BBC Good Food website where they had the most amazing looking cookie cake so I made my own but with a few small changes.

IMG_1164I wanted to make the cookie cake more moist and rich (I’m not the biggest fan of a crunchy biscuit) so I added an extra egg yolk.  I increased the amount of flour by 50 g and included a little more cornflour.   When we ate it just out of the oven it was so soft, almost brownie like.  When cool its almost at the texture of a cookie but still melts a little in your mouth.

I also used dark chocolate instead of milk for the chocolate chips as I think it gives a richer flavour.  Also just a little tip to help save money on your chocolate chips – buy chocolate then finely chop it.

~~~~~
Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake
From Mrs Walls’ Kitchen adapted from the Giant Cookie Cake recipe by Good Food

 

Ingredients 
Serves 8-10
175 g unsalted butter (cubed and at room temperature)
200 g light brown sugar
1 egg (plus 2 egg yolks)
2 tsp vanilla extract
300 g self-raising flour
2 1/2 tsp cornflour
2 tsp baking powder
100 g dark chocolate chips
50 g white chocolate chips
Method
Preheat the oven to 200ºc/392ºf/gas mark 6. Grease and line a 23 cm spring-form tin.
Beat the butter and sugar together in a large bowl until light and fluffy, then mix in the egg, extra yolks and vanilla extract.
Add the flour, cornflour and baking powder to the bowl and combine well until you have a thick cookie dough.  Mix in the chocolate chips.
Add the mix to the spring-form tin and level the dough out until the top is relatively smooth.  Bake for 20-25 minutes until light golden brown.  Serve while still warm with ice cream or when cool.
~~~~~

Did you love my Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks
3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Leave a Reply

