Chicken and Chickpea Curry

I used to be quite a fussy child; I wouldn’t eat lots of things and wasn’t really interested in food at all.  Poor mum and dad would make something like sausage, mash and beans – I didn’t like mash or baked beans so I used to only have two sausages.

As I’ve grown up, I’ve become the polar opposite and there is now nothing that I wouldn’t eat.  I have held onto a few reservations though, there are things I would eat happily but wouldn’t choose to eat.

This includes curries.  The only curry that’s etched in my memories is chicken korma (the korma out of a jar), not that there was anything wrong with this, but team it up with the miseries of being a teenager and I developed a strong dislike for curry.  Eventually I realised you could have something other than chicken korma and discovered vegetarian curries and tikka masala and was a little converted; then I tried this.

Obviously, I wouldn’t be blogging about this curry if it wasn’t worthy of a mention but instead of telling you how it’s the best thing ever, I’ll quote what we both couldn’t stop saying as we were eating it, ‘This is the best thing I’ve ever eaten ‘ and ‘I’ve never tasted anything like this’.  I don’t know if it was the spices or the beautiful chicken and chickpea combination but I wanted this curry to last forever.

What I’m trying to say is, I am a changed person.  Maybe I’ll go all out and head down our local Indian and try something there.

~~~~~
Chicken and Chickpea Curry

 

Ingredients
Serves 4
1 onion (diced)
1 clove of garlic (crushed)
2 chillies (seeds removed and sliced thinly)
4/5 boneless chicken thighs or chicken breast, roughly 500 g (cubed)
3 cm stem of ginger (diced very finely or processed finely)
2 1/2 tbsp medium curry powder
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp turmeric
150 ml chicken stock
400 g tin of chopped tomatoes
400 g tin of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)

 

Method
Fry the onions and garlic until slightly softened.  Add the chillies and move them around the pan for about a minute.  Add the chicken and all the spices including the ginger, curry powder, paprika and turmeric.  Mix and allow the chicken to seal.
Add both the chicken stock and chopped tomatoes.  Simmer for 30 minutes.
Add the chickpeas and cook for a further 5 minutes.
Serve with naan or rice.
~~~~~

Did you love my Chicken and Chickpea Curry?
Leave me a comment below or share your pictures on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #mrswallscooks
Leave a Reply

