Pulled Gammon – 3 Ways

In today’s post, I want to thank my supportive husband, Ross, who has been standing by me whilst I go crazy – cooking day and night.  He always encourages me to create what I want and then dutifully eats it (with a brave face),  gives up his evenings to help me in the kitchen and is always excited about what I’m doing.

Most of all, he cleans up after I’ve been cooking. It’s a big task and it must mean he loves me… a lot.  When I’m trying to trial several different ideas at once he sometimes even cleans as I’m cooking.  Ross cleans it, I use the item he just washed and give it back to him dirty… what a saint.

That’s all besides the point really.  I do need to give some of the credit to Ross as we came up with the idea for this blog together; he contributed a lot to the idea and concept and helped me test it. We went on a day out together locally, at Stourhead (google it, it’s stunning) on the hottest day of the year so far (wasn’t it 36ºc in some places??) when we started talking about what I could do with some gammon we had left over.  It then eventually developed into what you see here.  My pulled gammon – 3 ways.

To create your pulled gammon – simply buy yourself a gammon joint and slow cook it on a low setting for a day (8 hours roughly). Once done, your meat will fall apart – which is the beauty of a slow cooker.

Instead of giving you a full blown recipe today, which I don’t think is necessary, I’m going to give you the ratios of each ingredient in each and a brief description.  You can then make as much as you may need for the amount of pulled gammon you want to use or have left over.

You can do anything with this gammon: add it to a bun, add it to a salad, have it with egg and chips etc.  The possibilities are endless with these three completely different flavours.

~~~~~
Chinese Soy
Water : Soy Sauce : Chinese 5-Spice
2 : 1 : 1/2
I love Chinese food. Yes this is a step in the other direction in flavour- but we needed that… right?  Pour the sauce over the meat and let it soak in for a little while, making sure that all the meat has come into contact with at least some of the liquid.  Griddle until it is starting to crisp up, then serve.  

 

Sweet Orange 
Juice of 1 Orange : 1 tsp Sugar
Ross’ favourite.  A really delicious way of using this meat.  Heat up the orange juice and sugar in a pan together until it begins to bubble; then add your chosen amount of gammon making sure that all of it is coated.  Let it start to brown/char slightly before removing from the heat and serving.  

 

My Mums Special Marinade
Clear Honey : Mustard : Tomato Ketchup
1 : 1 : 1
As the name for this suggests my mum showed me this marinade when I still lived at home.  She used to marinate pork chops in this, of which I have very fond memories.  So I had to include it.  To make, simply use a frying pan or griddle pan with a dash of olive oil.  Add your chosen amount of pulled gammon and pour over the sauce.  Turn the gammon over in the pan until the sauce is covering it all.  Fry/Griddle until it is beginning to brown; then remove from the heat and serve.
~~~~~
One thought on “Pulled Gammon – 3 Ways

Leave a Reply

