Sweet and Simple Flapjacks

I’ve never been good at baking. I can cook but when it comes to a victoria sponge… I CAN NEVER SEEM TO MAKE IT RISE!! Maybe it’s because I don’t have the skills to fold the flour in correctly or to keep it from curdling when I add the eggs. It could even be that I’m so bad at baking that I dont do it often enough for my self-raising flour and baking powder to be in date.  I’ve got used to doing double mixture, which is a massive cheat thing to do I know, just so I don’t end up with another sponge the thickness of a piece of bread.

My point is – I can do flapjacks. It’s easy, it’s fun and rewarding.  They were my go to when I was a kid and they still are now. They’re fairly versatile too.

I love mixed spice in baking, it’s definetely a family thing, so I added a bit more mixed spice to these than most would but I think works well. I also drizzled white chocolate over mine once they were cooked but you could use another type of chocolate or go without. You can also add fruit if you want, such as dates or sultanas, just add less oats according to balance it out. Make it your own.

~~~~~
Sweet and Simple Flapjacks

 

Ingredients 
Makes 16 flapjacks 
175 g butter
175 g golden syrup
175 g light brown sugar
350 g porridge oats
1 tsp mixed spice (optional)

 

Method
Preheat the oven at 160°c/325°f/gas mark 3. Line a roughly 21 cm tin (I used a brownie tin,  the size can vary if needs be)  with paper on the bottom and greased sides.
Melt the butter in a large saucepan on a medium heat. Once melted take off the heat and add the golden syrup and sugar. Stir until they are both combined. Add mixed spice (if using) to the pan. Add the oats and mix thoroughly.
Spread the mix evenly in your tin, pressing the mix in.  Cook for 40 minutes.  Leave to cool for 20 minutes then turn out of the tin (*) and cut into squares.
~~~~~

*if you want to decorate like mine do this before cutting the flapjacks, then leave to set for another 10 minutes, then cut.

One thought on “Sweet and Simple Flapjacks

Leave a Reply

